Village Government Seats

The Williamsport Village Council consists of six elected citizens serving staggered four-year terms. The Council enacts ordinances and resolutions relating to Village services, tax levies, appropriating money, compensation levels of Village officials and employees and other municipal purposes. 

The Mayor is also an elected citizen that serves a four-year term. The Mayor serves as the official head of the municipal government and as the presiding officer at meetings of the Council. In addition, the Mayor has all the judicial and military power granted to Mayors of municipal corporations by the laws of the State. The Mayor appoints a Mayor Pro Temp at the beginning of each year to perform the same duties in the absence of the Mayor. 

The Fiscal Officer is an appointed position. The Fiscal Officer is responsible for publishing and recording all actions of the Council, advertising public hearings and meetings, and maintaining financial records of the municipality. Currently, the Fiscal Officer is also serving the Board of Public Affairs as the Board Clerk. The Board Clerk is responsible for recording all actions of the Board of Public Affairs and maintaining their financial records. 

The Board of Public Affairs consists of three elected citizens. Board seats are on staggered four-year terms. The Board has powers and duties relating to village utility services and manages the operation of the utilities. In addition, it may set rates for village utilities, except the sewage system, for which rates are established by the village council. The Board of Public Affairs otherwise manages the Village's sewer system. 

For more information on these positions please refer to the Village Officer's Handbook on the Ohio Auditor of States website. 

Meeting Schedule

The regular meetings of the Village Council are held on the first and third Monday of each month. The meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. at the American Legion Hall, 107 Green Street. 

The regular meetings of the Board of Public Affairs are held the second Monday of each month. The meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. in the Village Meeting Room at the Water Plant, 300 Ballard Ave. 

Any emergency or special meetings will be posted 24 hours prior to the meeting start time. You may view these postings at the Village of Williamsport Post Office, the Williamsport branch of the Savings Bank, the announcement board at the Williamsport Pettit's IGA, the announcement board at the Deercreek Township Trustee Building (also the Fire/EMS Station) and the announcement board at the Water Plant. These special meetings will also be added to our website's calendar on the homepage.

All meeting minutes will be posted to the website after approval in an open and public meeting. If copies are needed prior to being posted, you may contact the Fiscal Officer for a draft copy. Please allow a reasonable amount of time to receive any draft copies.   

Staff Contacts

Gayle Spangler

Council Members

Name Title
John Elliott Mayor
Matthew Fields Member
Cindy Mayhugh Council (Pro Temp)
Ron Lyle Member
Mary Beth Poe Member
Pennie McCain Member
Tracey Garrett Member